Home > Our School > School History

School History

Saint John the Apostle is a Catholic Primary School within the Archdiocese of Canberra and Goulburn. We serve the Catholic parish of St John the Apostle, Kippax and surrounding suburbs. The parish is administered by the order of the Missionaries of the Sacred Heart and our school has always embraced this charism.

St John the Apostle Primary School was blessed and opened in 1979 by the then Archbishop of Canberra and Goulburn, Edward Clancy. The foundation principal was Mr Ken Evenden and the Parish Priest was Fr Harry Morrissey msc.

The school has continuously ensured that the facilities meet the needs of all of its students. In June 1993, a new computer centre was blessed and opened by Bishop Patrick Power. In March 2000, Archbishop Francis Carroll blessed and opened refurbishments made to the administrative area. Further developments have included complete refurbishments of the classroom blocks and the introduction of technology that creates digital learning opportunities for teachers and students.

Our school has four house teams, named after people from four sectors of society. These houses are Florey (the academic sector - Howard Florey was an Australian Nobel Prize winner in medicine), McKay (the sporting sector - Heather McKay was a champion Australian squash player), Namatjira (the cultural sector - Albert Namatjira was a famous Australian aboriginal artist); and O'Brien (the spiritual sector - Archbishop Eris O'Brien was for many years Archbishop of Canberra and Goulburn).




Back to Top