Home > Teaching & Learning > Religious Education

Religious Education


At Saint John's we use Shared Christian Praxis as the framework for teaching and learning in Religious Education. Units of work are based on the Treasures New and Old Unit Outlines and are developed at school level and written using the praxis approach. When programming units of work, teachers commence the unit with a focusing activity that introduces, orientates and motivates students to the study of the unit. Teachers draw upon students' current experiences and knowledge to assist them to make connections with spirtuality and faith. It is inclusive and invitational. Teachers plan teaching and learning experiences that cover five movements:



Participants are invited to name or express in some form their own or others’ life experience that relates particularly to the topic.


Participants are encouraged to reflect critically on what has already been expressed. Why do we do this? Why do others act the way they do? What options are there?

The Christian Story and Vision

Here the participants are given access to the Church’s Faith and Tradition relevant to the focusing theme and topic. In Treasures New and Old, the content of the Christian Story and Vision is is also linked to relevant scripture.


Participants reflect on their own understandings, experience, views and questions in the light of the Christian Story and Vision; by placing the two in relationship they deepen their understanding.


In response to this integration, participants are challenged to identify appropriate ways of living the Christian life.




At Saint John's students participate in a shared Parish and home based sacramental program. The Parish provides an excellent short formation series for parents of students receiving each sacrament for the first time.  Students also learn about the Sacraments of Reconciliation, Eucharist and Confirmation at school. The typical year levels for these units of work are:

Year 3- Sacrament of Reconciliation.

Year 3 - Sacrament of Eucharist.

Year 6 - Sacrament of Confirmation.


Back to Top